Getting a Driving Permit in Florida

Jada Sparrow

Over the summer, many sophomores try to get their learner’s permit and face many obstacles due to lack of preparation or knowledge of resources.

One reliable and effective website for completing your permit exam and required courses is idrivesafely.

Gaither students not interested in taking an online course can take the semester-long Driver’s Education class. Students who take Driver’s Ed at school get to take the permit test for free. Taking the test somewhere else could cost around $48.

According to firsttimedriver.com, Florida requires students to meet the following criteria to get a learner’s permit: 

  • Be at least 15 years of age
  • Provide proof of completion of a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
  • Provide parental consent form if under 18 and required documents for proof of identity
  • Complete your permit exam
  • Pass a vision and hearing test

Gaither Driver’s Ed class requires students to pay $40 to go toward the Driver’s Ed vehicles. The course prepares students for the test, they are given time to drive around during class instead of for some students who have to wait for their parents to be able to drive around at home to practice.

The class also goes over basic car and road safety information that will be asked in either the permit test or the official license test.